Istanbul 2010: Markets

Acibadem Market, March 4, 2010

I love markets, both in New York and abroad. I once told a male friend, a European, how much I love strolling through local markets in whatever city I visit, and he couldn’t even begin to comprehend why. He actually though it was completely laughable. He’d never heard or thought of such a thing. I’m not sure if my penchant for markets is feminine, American, or both, but I find it an entirely creative experience. Farmers markets are among my favorite, whether the food is familiar and fresh or exotic and esoteric. I like to look, smell, grab what’s best, and scheme to cleverly craft something delicious—a whole that’s even greater than so many lovely parts.

Acibadem Market, March 4, 2010

Beyond food, the color, the people, the sights, and the sounds of a market are enough to inspire any artist. There are infinite songs, books, poems, and paintings waiting to be discovered among the stalls and wares. Istanbul’s bazaars on the European side are plenty famous, and have inflated prices and tourist hordes to prove it. These photos are more my speed, off the beaten path, taken in local markets I wandered through, with great joy, on the Asian side.

Kadiköy Markets, March 12, 2010

 

Kadiköy Markets, March 12, 2010

 

0 Responses to “Istanbul 2010: Markets”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


