This is My Heyday

I’ve recently made a radical decision to enjoy what I do for money and to commit to doing what I’m good at. It’s a process, one I’m working through to a soundtrack of lovely music such as this. And it’s a little scary. It’s a risk. A step of faith.

As I busy myself tonight writing other people’s projects (happily, and for money), I’m going to borrow Mic Christopher’s words to express a bit of what I’m thinking.

Best read while listening to Glen Hansard’s cover. Not every lyric speaks to what I’m feeling, but the song transcendentally does.

Three months ago I was walking around the streets of Dublin at 2AM singing these out. I’m going to give it a try tonight in Brooklyn. If I close my eyes…

This is my heyday, baby.

And I’m NOT going to be afraid to shout.

For the sun
For the light
For the ride and for the masters
We come to be kind
To be warm here and after
We’ve been out
But we’re back
Because we’re graced in these matters

And we’ll rise.
And we did a little love
But we walked
We make a sound for the mesto
Make a little call to the right
to the ball and to the mast-top
And we

We fool around now and again
We’re looking good
But just as friends.

And this is our heyday baby
And we’re not gonna be afraid to shout
‘Cause we can make our heyday last forever
And ain’t that what it’s all about
Oh living, in our own terrible way.

And we lack a little love, but a sign
A sign to get a little messed up
Picking up the rules, for the chimes
Making up minds and making it last us
‘Cause we live alone, and now we’re grown
And we know what we’re after
And we’ll rise

Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


