Still Traveling Light

I’m not officially traveling anymore. I’m back in New York, which is home in a way that nowhere else has ever been. I have no plans to leave at the moment, save for a conference here and a family wedding there. I am not carrying my camera everywhere I go nor trying to decipher foreign languages to find the exit, and I have a job.

I’m not officially traveling.

But I’m not officially done with it either. I also don’t have an apartment, a permanent address, or a clearly defined five-year plan. (Really, I don’t even have a five-month plan.) I’m not emotionally ready to give up my travels, nor the place Europe has come to occupy in my heart, so I won’t. What does that mean practically? Haven’t a clue.

That’s not true, actually. I am going to keep up this blog. That’s reasonably practical. When I thought about names, I liked Traveling Light because it had a couple of double meanings that I liked the idea of applying to my life in general. I’ll let you ponder those.

I’d love to say that travel is a state of mind, but it’s really not. It’s hard to be in a “everything’s a new adventure” state of mind when you’re in your hometown. But my eyes are focused on the promise of things to come and grateful for the richness of blessing that’s right in front of me. I’m most definitely on the road.

6 Responses to “Still Traveling Light”


  1. 1 Dawn 2 June 2010 at 13:47

    Congrats on the job! What are you going to be doing? I’m so bummed we didn’t connect while you were here in Europe especially since now we are headed back to the States come August! Who knows maybe we can see one another on the East Coast sometime this fall or winter.

    • 2 travelinglightjs 8 June 2010 at 16:11

      Dawn! Where in the US are you heading back to? Was it Baltimore area? If so, very good chance we can connect. I make it down to DC relatively often, so would love to see you en route! Also will have some travel with my new job here, so would love to book some work down there and add in some social time. Will message you soon.

  2. 3 Stacy 2 June 2010 at 16:34

    You took the words right out of my mouth… 🙂

  3. 5 Kim 8 June 2010 at 00:10

    Jen! Love travelling light. I enjoy hearing and reading everything you write, and look forward to your future endeavors full of the joys of change and exploration. You have inspired me to take the time to go back and read all these blogs I used to write on blogger when travelling (I forgot about them!). So thanks, amazing lady.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


