A Quiet Moment at the Louvre

Louvre

One would think that traveling around Europe for two months would offer ample opportunity for quiet reflection and deep thinking. I mean, what better venue than art museums in Paris for a creative type to find great inspiration?

Unfortunately, as is often the case, I’ve found the reality differs somewhat from the ideal. The days of travel, though filled with gorgeous art, become a race against the clock created by opening hours, train schedules, and—just as the flash of creativity is about to strike—an angry stomach reminding it’s time to find food.

But even when I can’t find (read: “don’t make,” and that’s a whole other conversation) time on the road to reflect, go back once I’ve come home. This photo, taken 20 minutes before closing time at the Louvre, helps me do that. A deep breath, a sip of tea, and eyes gently closed, I’m back here:

A pause from the mad rush of Paris to find a room, full of art yet void of people. Perfect Parisian spring light pours in the windows, and it falls on me like a blanket of peace. There is such intimacy in this room. I feel like the art here is mine and mine alone; a secret shared between me and its creators. A gift. But also an invitation. In this room, this quiet place, I hear a whisper telling me, “You belong here. You are welcome here. You can create, too. And I want to see it.”

I pause, I hear, I smile, and I know. I know it’s true. A moment of gratitude before the journey continues.

0 Responses to “A Quiet Moment at the Louvre”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


