Why haven’t I been writing?

I suppose you can call it a back-handed compliment when a friend comments on your blog to say, “This is great. But what the hell have you been doing with yourself for the last month?” What have I been doing? Why haven’t I been writing?

I’m not sure. It’s not that I haven’t had “content.” This is a blog that purports to be about world and self discovery, and I’ve traveled many miles in both territories. Traveled, yes. But I don’t know that I’ve reached any clear destinations. Though the dream to relocate permanently to Europe looms larger than ever, I still lack the job and accompanying visa that will get me here. Self discovery is a similar journey. I’m on the road, destination unsure. But clearer than it was a couple months ago.

A very wise man once told me I need to get comfortable moving toward something even if I don’t know exactly where I’m going. He was encouraging me about stepping out as a writer, but it’s a good bit of advice for life in general. As I reflect on my month of radio silence, I think my next step is to get more comfortable talking about the process. Because, although I don’t know all the details, I am very confident of the things that really matter—my purpose, the God that created me for it, and the fact that I’m to love people well along the way.

That’s enough of a road map for me. I’ll keep you posted about the journey.

0 Responses to “Why haven’t I been writing?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


