Watching Spring Spring

Vondelpark Amsterdam

It doesn’t take a brain surgeon — or even, ahem, even a Masters level counseling graduate — to know that weather affects mood. We always talk about Seasonal Affective Disorder, aka, how people get depressed in Seattle, but have we focused sufficiently on Spring Syndrome, the condition by which everyone is in a ridiculously good mood on the first few sunny warm days of the year?

I’ve had the privilege of being in London, Vienna, Prauge, and Amsterdam on those “first spring days” over the last couple of weeks. The parks are flooded, people are wearing far too few clothes for the barely-warm weather (especially in London. The British in spring are like Iowans in March. Forty degrees? Shorts!), and everyone’s smiling. Optimism abounds. In Amsterdam’s Vondelpark, so did Heineken and marijuana, but I think those were the tourists.

I want to capture that spirit right now. I don’t want the weather to dictate my attitude. I’m choosing today to diagnose myself with Spring Syndrome for the foreseeable future. Symptoms? A commitment to see new life everywhere I look, a blatant disregard for anything negative, and hope springing stereotypically eternal. No emotional April showers for me. Let the clouds be burnt off my the light of the sun.

It’s a new season, indeed.

2 Responses to “Watching Spring Spring”


  1. 1 Jeff Crabtree 24 April 2010 at 23:35

    GREAT – I’m loving this – burt nothing for the whole month of April?

  2. 2 travelinglightjs 25 April 2010 at 03:40

    Jeff, was thinking both of you and this blog this morning. Thanks for the shove in the right direction. More to come.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


