22 Again

When I think about where my life is going and where it’s been, I see my undergrad media law class. Our famously tough professor told us she always had the course scheduled at 8AM so we’d get ready for the “real world.” It was a vague concept then, even in my senior year. But, somehow, in my mind’s eye, I can see myself sitting in that chair but looking out – down the proverbial road to my “real world” future.

It’s been eight years since then. I thought I’d be a journalist. I never was. I thought I’d transition to working in a PR agency. I did marketing, client side. I thought I’d go to law school. I worked at one, but used my tuition remission to earn a Masters in counseling. I thought I’d be married with babies. I’ve had just a handful of dates in eight years of living in New York, none serious. None producing babies.

Now, as I find myself reentering the job market in the midst of the “global financial crisis,” I’m starting to wonder what the last eight and a half years of my life have been about. I  believe that everything works out for the best, that all the detours in my journey have been leading to something. But to what?

I feel like I’m 22 again, embarking on a new career path and looking toward setting up life in a new city. Daunting? Yes. But honestly, when I can drop the pride, it’s not such a bad place to be. A clean slate. A good dose of hope. A good road ahead.

1 Response to “22 Again”


  1. 1 Dawn 11 March 2010 at 02:18

    Oh, media law brings back memories. That was a tough class, but one of my favorites. I too have taken a very different path than the one I thought I would while sitting in media law and it is fun and interesting to look forward and back. Wishing you all the best on your new journey and I hope to get to see you while you are in England!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Where I’ve Been

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Twitter


